Boys basketball coaching changes

As usual, many area schools have undergone boys high school varsity basketball coaching changes. Here are many of the them:

Bellbrook: Perry Caldwell resigned after 14 seasons as head coach and 22 with the Golden Eagles; succeeded by Donnie Tate, who is in his first season as a head coach and most recently was an assistant at Carroll (2014-16).

Bellefontaine: Jason Calton succeeds Henry Stolly, who resigned after nine seasons as the Chieftains’ boys coach to succeed Brian Hogan as Bellefontaine’s girls coach.

Catholic Central: Cody Sarensen (Lancaster) succeeds Mitch McCurdy, the Irish coach for just one season.

Coldwater: Former Cavaliers girls coach Nick Fisher succeeds Mike Bruns. Fisher was an assistant with the boys the last two seasons.

Dixie: Chris Tipton succeeds Isaiah Williams.

Graham: Julian Grasso succeeds Mike Smart. Grasso was an assistant at Fairmont the previous eight seasons.

Greenon: Kevin Taylor succeeds Scott Smith, who refuted accusations by parents directed at him last spring. Taylor is a Greenon grad.

Greenville: Kyle Joseph succeeds Mike Bashore, who led the Green Wave to their first league title in 60 yards at the GWOC North champs in 2015.

Houston: John Willoughby resigned following a long and successful run to succeed Andy Slaughter at Sidney.

Mechanicsburg: Tyler Craig succeeds Matt Siegel.

Milton-Union: Mike Piatt succeeds Rusty Berner, who resigned after four seasons. Mike Piatt was most recently a Chaminade Julienne assistant and former Tipp interim boys hoop coach.

Minster: Michael McClurg was promoted to succeed Mike Lee after assisting the past three seasons. Lee resigned after 23 seasons as the program’s all-time wins leader (314).

Parkway: Doug Hughes succeeds Rick Hickman, who resigned along with football coach Dan Cairns and AD Doug Hughes in a mass exodus.

Ponitz: Steve Pittman succeeds Dwayne Hansbro, who was not renewed after just one season. “Pit” is a longtime former assistant for Darnell Hoskins at Springfield and Thurgood Marshall.

Preble Shawnee: Dale Spitler, Jr. succeeds Roger Ellis.

Sidney: John Willoughby resigned at Houston to succeed Andy Slaughter at Sidney.

Thurgood Marshall: Shawn McCullough succeeds Darnell Hoskins. McCullough previously was head coach at Stivers and also was an assistant for Hoskins at Thurgood. Hoskins succeeds Mark Baker at Middletown. Baker is now the Dayton Public Schools AD, succeeding Jonas Smith.

Versailles: Travis Swank was promoted to succeed Scott McEldowney, who resigned after a 10-year run (156-80), including a D-III state runner-up in 2013.

Yellow Springs: Bobby Crawford succeeds Steve Grasso, who left to become an assistant for his brother Julian Grasso at Graham.

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Dayton settles for long-range shots and can’t make enough to beat Hawks
Dayton settles for long-range shots and can’t make enough to beat Hawks

The Dayton Flyers lived by the 3-pointer on Friday and died by it on Wednesday. No one expected Dayton to replicate its 106-79 victory against Virginia Commonwealth when it played at St. Joseph’s, but no one expected a meltdown either. Of course, that’s the way this up-and-down season is going. The Flyers lost 81-65 at Hagan Arena...
OSU’s Holtmann first coach in 95 years to win first 7 Big Ten games
OSU’s Holtmann first coach in 95 years to win first 7 Big Ten games

Chris Holtmann became the first coach in 95 years to win his first seven Big Ten games as No. 22 Ohio State defeated Northwestern 71-65 on Wednesday night. C.J. Jackson had 12 points, eight assists and three steals, Micah Potter scored 13 points off the bench, Jae’Sean Tate added 12 and Keita Bates-Diop had 10 points and eight rebounds for the...
HS Results 1/17: Centerville drops Lebanon, Waynesville beats Oakwood

Boys Basketball Cedarville 63, West Jefferson 53: Colby Cross poured in 29 points, including five three-point baskets, to carry Cedarville in the win. Girls Basketball Centerville 66, Lebanon 62: Emma Stanley scored 18 points, leading four players in double-digit scoring for Centerville. Alexis Straw led Lebanon with 21. Beavercreek 60, Miamisburg...
HS Scores 1/17: Cross leads Cedarville, Hamilton edges Middies

Boys Basketball Tuesday’s Results Belmont 68, Franklyn 51: Hunt (B) 20; Kinder (F) 16. Butler 55, Tecumseh 32: Justice (B) 22. Chaminade Julienne 61, Thurgood Marshall 59 Clark Montessori 67, Cin. Christian 50: Ealy (CM) 24; Reutener (CC) 12. Clinton Massie 59, Valley View 55: Chowning (CM) 20. Dayton Christian 48, Emmanuel Christian 29: Welker...
Unbeaten Wittenberg rolls over Ohio Wesleyan
Unbeaten Wittenberg rolls over Ohio Wesleyan

The beard lives on in Springfield. Wittenberg men’s basketball coach Matt Croci says he won’t shave until his team loses this season and the Tigers made sure the growth will continue with a 93-72 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Wednesday night. The Tigers (16-0, 9-0) climbed to No. 5 in the poll this week and promptly proved they...
More Stories