You have reached your limit of free articles this month.

Enjoy unlimited access to

Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks.


  • ePAPER

You have read of premium articles.

Get unlimited access to all of our breaking news, in-depth coverage and bonus content- exclusively for subscribers. Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks


Welcome to

This subscriber-only site gives you exclusive access to breaking news, in-depth coverage, exclusive interactives and bonus content.

You can read free articles of your choice a month that are only available on

Coldwater, Marion Local trios first team All-Ohio

Coldwater and Marion Local, Midwest Athletic Conference powers that will play for state championships this weekend, each placed three members on All-Ohio teams released by the Associated Press on Wednesday.

Coldwater senior receiver Neal Muhlenkamp, senior quarterback Dylan Thobe and senior defensive lineman Andrew Siefring were selected to the Division V first team. Marion Local was represented on the D-VI first team by senior offensive lineman Luke Moorman, senior defensive lineman Jon Knapschaefer and senior linebacker Jack Homan.

Coldwater (13-1) plays Canton Central Catholic (10-3) for the D-V state title at 8 p.m. Saturday. Marion Local (13-1) plays Cuyahoga Heights (14-0) for the D-VI championship at 10 a.m. Friday. All games will be at Ohio Stadium in Columbus.

Also making the D-V first team were Greeneview defensive lineman Isaiah Harding and Rams teammate and tight end/punter Ethan Bradds.

The Southwest District defensive player of the year, Harding was chosen as a defensive lineman. Bradds, an outstanding tight end for the Rams, was selected as a punter. They were key reasons Greeneview (9-3) advanced to the playoffs three straight seasons. The Rams lost to four-time defending state champ Coldwater 27-24 in a Region 20 semifinal.

Bradds has committed to Eastern Kentucky University.

Additional D-VI area first-team selections were Mechanicsburg quarterback Kaleb Romero, defensive lineman Dylan Hartman and offensive lineman Dylan Hartley. Other D-VI first-teamers were Miami East seninor defensive back Arron Adams and National Trail senior punter Ben Sullivan.

It’s the second straight season for Romero and Hartley on the D-VI first team. Romero reset all the Indians’ significant single-season and career offensive records. Hartley was just as dominant as a defensive lineman. Hartman was named as an offensive lineman.

Mechanicsburg (12-1) rolled to its second straight 10-0 regular season and lost 26-15 to Marion local in a Region 24 final.

The D-V offensive and defensive players of the year were running back Sam Stoll (Milan Edison) and linebacker Griffin Baumoel (Canton Central Catholic). The D-V coach of the year was Marce Porcello (Wickliffe).

The D-VI players of the year were running back Donny Johnson (Hamler Patrick Henry) and linebacker Owen Loncar (Kirtland). The D-VI coach of the year was Bill Inselmann (Hamler Patrick Henry).

Teams were chosen by statewide district media panels based on nominations from coaches and forwarded to the Associated Press, which determined the All-Ohio teams. Division VII All-Ohio and Mr Football will be announced today.

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Trick play gives S.D. State short-lived lead
Trick play gives S.D. State short-lived lead
Here’s a play that we used to draw on the unlined football fields of our childhood. And it worked to perfection for South Dakota State.
Bomb threat on Celtics’ plane was hoax
Bomb threat on Celtics’ plane was hoax
Members of the Boston Celtics got a scare Saturday when they were told of a bomb threat on their chartered flight to Oklahoma City, but it appears it was a hoax, several news outlets reported.
Edgewood comes out hot, rolls past Mohawks 60-42
Edgewood comes out hot, rolls past Mohawks 60-42
H.S. Results for 12/10: Miami Valley’s Karras just misses school record
Lamar Jackson, Louisville QB, wins Heisman Trophy
Lamar Jackson, Louisville QB, wins Heisman Trophy
Add Lamar Jackson's name to the Pantheon of college football history. Read more trending stories The former Boynton Beach, Florida, quarterback, who became the hottest athlete in college football with the Louisville Cardinals this season, was named the 2016 Heisman Trophy winner at the award ceremony in New York City Saturday night.
More Stories