4 LSU youngsters named to SEC All-Freshman team

  • Nick Suss
  • SEC Country
Dec 07, 2017

BATON ROUGE, La. — Headlined by standout cornerback Greedy Williams, four LSU freshmen were named to the 2017 Coaches’ Freshman All-SEC team Thursday.

Williams led the SEC in interceptions with 5 and passes defended with 15 in 2017, becoming the first LSU freshman defender to be named first-team All-SEC in school history. A redshirt freshman from Shreveport, Williams tied with Donte Jackson and Kevin Toliver II atop LSU’s pass breakups leaderboard with 10 and became the first Tigers defender to lead the SEC in interceptions since 2007.

Filling in for the oft-injured superstar junior Arden Key, outside linebacker K’Lavon Chaisson accumulated 2 sacks and 4.5 tackles for loss in his true freshman season. The Houston native added 2 quarterback hurries and 1 pass breakup with 25 total tackles.

After enrolling at LSU in the fall and rotating at guard with fellow freshman Ed Ingram, left tackle Saahdiq Charles was thrust into starting at left tackle for LSU after K.J. Malone went down with a knee injury midway through the season. Charles started every game for LSU beginning with the Auburn game, helping the Tigers rush for 225 yards per game over that span.

Zach Von Rosenberg took over as LSU’s starting punter midway through the year, going from rotating with Josh Growden as the Tigers’ long-distance leg to one of the most efficient punters in the SEC. The former Minor League Baseball player averaged 43.3 yards per punt on 33 punts in 2017.

The LSU football team returns to action on Jan. 1, 2018 in the Citrus Bowl versus No. 14 Notre Dame. The game will be broadcast on ABC and is scheduled to begin at noon ET. Expect Williams, Chaisson, Charles and Von Rosenberg to all start.

Full freshman All-SEC list

TE – Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL – Trey Smith, Tennessee
OL – Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL – Solomon Kindley, Georgia
OL – Saahdiq Charles, LSU
C – Trystan Castillo, Missouri
WR – D.K. Metcalf, Ole Miss
WR – Jhamon Ausbon, Texas A&M
QB – Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB – D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB – Malik Davis, Florida
AP – Larry Rountree III, Missouri

DL – Nick Coe, Auburn
DL – K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU
DL – Big Kat Bryant, Auburn
DL – Tre Williams, Missouri
LB – Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB – Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
LB – Anthony Hines III, Texas A&M
DB – Andraez “Greedy” Williams, LSU
DB – CJ Henderson, Florida
DB – Marco Wilson, Florida
DB – Jamyest Williams, South Carolina

PK – Jace Christmann, Mississippi State
P – Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU
RS – Henry Ruggs III, Alabama*
RS – Lynn Bowden, Kentucky*
RS – Larry Rountree III, Missouri*
RS – De’Vion Warren, Arkansas*
* ties not broken

The post 4 LSU youngsters named to SEC All-Freshman team appeared first on SEC Country.