100 bills in 10 days: Mad finish on tap as lawmakers, Kasich wrap up session

Division I: All-Southwest District football

The 2018 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division I football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:


First Team Offense

Backfield: Michael Bittner, Cincinnati Elder, 6-feet-2, 200 pounds, senior, QB; Jesse Deglow, Kettering Fairmont, 5-10, 194, sr., RB; Miles Johnson, Clayton Northmont, 6-1, 195, sr., QB; Cameron Kells, Milford, 5-10, 180, sr., RB; JuTahn McClain, Fairfield, 5-10, 180, jr., RB; Deante Smith-Moore, Cincinnati Colerain, 5-7, 185, sr., QB.

»RELATED: D-II All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-III All-Southwest District football

Receivers: Erick All, Fairfield, 6-5, 220, sr.; Michael Brown-Stephens, Springfield, 6-0, 180, sr.; Corey Burnette, Centerville, 5-10, 175, sr.; Justin Golson, Northmont, 5-11,185, jr.; RJ Khayo, Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller, 5-10, 160, sr.; Kyle Trischler, Elder, 5-10, 180, sr.

Linemen: Zach Carpenter, Moeller, 6-4, 300, sr.; Connor Foster, Milford, 6-8, 280, sr.; Isaiah Gibson, Springfield, 6-4, 294, sr.; TJ Gonella, Colerain, 6-2, 260, sr.; Paris Johnson, Cincinnati St. Xavier, 6-7, 287, jr.; Jacob Padilla, Huber Heights Wayne, 6-2, 275, jr.

»RELATED: D-IV All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-V All-Southwest District football

Kicker: Charlie Sipe, Mason, 6-2, 210, sr.

First Team Defense

Linemen: Spencer Bono, Elder, 6-4, 240, sr., DL; Jowon Briggs, Cin. Walnut Hills, 6-3, 290, sr., DL; Darion Henry, Cin. Princeton, 6-5, 270, jr., DE; Gabe Newburg, Northmont, 6-5, 235, sr., DE; Ryan Mullaney, Cin. Moeller, 6-2, 235, sr., DE; Dylan Wudke, Miamisburg, 6-4, 210, sr., OL.

»RELATED: D-VI All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-VII All-Southwest District football

Linebackers: Trey Baker, Fairmont, 6-0, 215, jr.; Luke Bolden, Colerain, 6-2, 225, sr.; Jestin Jacobs, Northmont, 6-4, 205, sr.; Thomas Kiessling, St. Xavier, 6-4, 225, sr.; Ivan Pace Jr., Colerain, 6-0, 220, sr.; Nick Straw, Lebanon, 6-3, 235, sr.

Secondary: Moses Douglass, Springfield, 6-3, 202, sr.; Ryan Hall, Fairmont, 6-4, 185, sr.; Justin Harris, Wayne, 6-0, 190, sr.; Syncere Jones, Colerain, 6-1, 185, sr.; Danny Lewis, Northmont, 5-10, 170, sr.; Jeremiah “JJ” Ross, West Chester Lakota West, 6-3, 185, sr.

»RELATED: Playoff football an Alter tradition

»RELATED: List of area seniors who signed

Punter: Brandon Walters, Centerville, 6-0, 175, sr.

Offensive player of the year: JuTahn McClain, Fairfield

Defensive player of the year: Ivan Pace Jr., Colerain

Coach of the year: Tom Bolden, Colerain

Second Team Offense

Backfield: JJ Davis, Colerain, 5-9, 175, sr., RB; Jack Dobrozsi, Liberty Twp. Lakota East, 5-10, 215, sr., RB; Rashad McKee, Wayne, 6-2, 190, sr., QB; Devin Nelson, Wayne, 6-0, 190, jr., RB; Keyshawn Stephens, Hamilton, 6-0, 190, so., RB; Jeff Tyus, Fairfield, 6-5, 230, sr., QB.

»RELATED: UC lands Xenia standout

»FOOTBALL PLAYOFFS: It’s Coldwater vs. Marion Local

Receivers: Jared Kreimer, St. Xavier, 6-0, 177, sr.; JR Melzer, Centerville, 6-0, 180, sr.; Shandon Morris, Middletown, 6-0, 170, sr.; Joe Royer, Elder, 6-5, 210, jr.; Steve Victoria, Wayne, 6-0, 185, sr.; Jermaine Wimpye, Princeton, 6-2, 175, sr.

Linemen: Colin Alcorn, Miamisburg, 6-3, 235, sr.; Zierin Exon, Springfield, 6-4, 290, jr.; Jacob Hensley, Fairfield, 6-3, 295, sr.; Jakob James, Elder, 6-5, 270, jr.; Luke Kandra, Elder, 6-4, 285, jr.; Patrick Roncagli, Fairmont, 5-9, 260, sr.

Kicker: Kevin Thibodeaux, Moeller, 5-9, 188, jr.

Second Team Defense

Linemen: Greg Fitzpatrick, Fairfield, 5-11, 270, sr.; Brian Heyward, Northmont, 6-2, 235, sr.; Kyle Klingenbeck, Elder, 6-2, 240, sr.; Casey Miller, Mason, 6-4, 240, sr.; Brian Stevens, Milford, 6-2, 250, sr.; Joe Wahl, Cin. West Clermont, 6-1, 240, sr.

»RELATED: Familiar feel, despite missing some regulars

»RELATED: Lebanon leaving GWOC

Linebackers: Jack Haglage, Mason, 6-3, 210, jr.; Jake Hoffmeyer, Elder, 6-1, 200, sr.; Matt Lewis, West Clermont, 6-0, 185, sr.; Luke Mattia, Hamilton, 6-3, 215, jr.; Tavion Smith, Springfield, 6-0, 196, sr.; Jahiem Thomas, Princeton, 6-3, 215, jr.

Secondary: Dustin Loudermilk, Milford, 6-0, 170, sr.; Caleb Newman, Lebanon, 6-1, 185, sr.; Jakari Patterson, Colerain, 6-3, 195, sr.; Troy Vinson, Middletown, 6-0, 185, sr.; Marqies Williams, Fairmont, 5-10, 170, sr.; Maurice Wilson, Beavercreek, 5-8, 175, sr.

Punter: Trevor Click, West Clermont, 5-10, 190, jr.

Honorable mention: Sean Church, Lakota East; Connor Bunts, Braden Miller, Fairmont; Tate Vongsy, Miamisburg; Ryan Cann, Sam Weaver, West Clermont; Logan Dalton, Brogan Reed, Mason; Christopher Lawrence, Jason Smith, Connor Tinch, Beavercreek; Nathan Arthur, Chris Payne, St. Xavier; TayVeon Smoot, Springfield; Jake Ayler, Milford;

»RELATED: Northmont falls to Pickerington Central again

»PHOTOS: Northmont vs. Pickerington Central, football playoffs

Ryan Francisco, Lakota West; Paul Rodriguez, Mason; David Weherley, Northmont; Billy Crago, Mason DeGennaro, Lebanon; Bryce Burton, Princeton; Delphous Thomas, Fairfield; Max Wynn, Centerville; Deshawn Pace, Eric Phillips, Colerain; Kayvon Britten, Cin. Western Hills; Jacob Berkemeier, Andy Lawson, Cin. Oak Hills.

»RELATED: 7 things to know about the football playoffs

»RELATED: Final football power rankings

»RELATED: Area teams in football playoffs

»FACEBOOK LIVE: Hartsock and Pendleton on football playoffs

Reader Comments

Next Up in Sports

Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray apologizes for anti-gay tweets
Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray apologizes for anti-gay tweets

Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Kyler Murray issued an apology Sunday after coming under fire for years-old anti-gay tweets. "I apologize for the tweets that have come to light tonight from when I was 14 and 15," Murray, 21, tweeted Sunday, just one day after the University of Oklahoma junior won the award. "I used a poor choice...
Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North
Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North

The Cincinnati Bengals were better, but that didn’t translate to a win Sunday against the Los Angeles Chargers. Instead, the Bengals suffered their fifth straight loss, a 26-21 decision to the Chargers at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. »RELATED: View photos from the game Running back Joe Mixon’s touchdown with 1:50 to play got...
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray has won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the University of Oklahoma's seventh Heisman winner, beating fellow finalists Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State on Saturday. Murray gives the Sooners back-to-back years with Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks (Baker Mayfield, 2017), something no school has done before...
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0

The Kings of the South are the Kings of MLS. Behind goals from Josef Martinez and Franco Escobar, Atlanta United defeated Portland 2-0 to win the MLS Cup in front of record announced attendance of more than 73,000 on Saturday at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. No one, from owner Arthur Blank to the players, were shy in the...
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn

On a night in which the Dayton Flyers committed 23 turnovers at Auburn Arena, the biggest gaffe belonged to the SEC Network, which ran five mugshots of UNC Asheville players under the names of the UD starters before the game. Only Ryan Mikesell looked plausibly like the player pictured under his name. Unlike UNC Asheville, which lost 67-41 to the No...
More Stories