100 bills in 10 days: Mad finish on tap as lawmakers, Kasich wrap up session

Division III: All-Southwest District football

The 2018 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division III football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:


First Team Offense

Backfield: Josh Anderson, New Richmond, 5-foot-10, 190 pounds, senior, QB; Connor Bazelak, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 6-4, 215, sr., QB; Michael Crawford, Cincinnati Mt. Healthy, 5-9, 165, sr., QB; Jack Fessler, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 5-10, 180, sr., RB; Ryan Martin, Vandalia Butler, 5-9, 185, sr., RB; Justin Sloan, Bellbrook, 5-7, 165, sr., RB; Davon Starks, Hamilton Badin, 5-11, 170, sr., RB.

»RELATED: D-IV All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-V All-Southwest District football

Receivers: Cam Coomer, Wilmington, 6-2, 170, jr.; Bryant Johnson, Butler, 6-6, 198, sr.; Justin Stephens, Trotwood-Madison, 6-6, 225, sr.; Dominic Wilcox, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-2, 185, sr.; Marcus Wood, Greenville, 5-10, 155, jr.

Linemen: Caden Clark, Piqua, 6-2, 285, sr.; Ethan Knisley, Bellbrook, 6-3, 305, sr.; Ryan Pool, Bellefontaine, 6-4, 270, jr.; Sam Secrest, Fenwick, 6-2, 235, sr.; Trevor VanVliet, Hamilton Ross, 6-3, 260, sr.; Jaison Williams, Trotwood-Madison, 6-4, 285, sr.

Kicker: Ben Sauls, Tippecanoe, 6-0, 168, jr.

»RELATED: D-VI All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-VII All-Southwest District football

First Team Defense

Linemen: Nathaniel Armstrong, Alter, 5-11, 245, sr.; Fred Butts, Dayton Carroll, 6-2, 245, sr.; Kennedy Coates, Trotwood-Madison, 5-10, 210, sr.; Shane Cokes, Chaminade Julienne, 6-3, 240, sr.; Connor Meyer, Alter, 6-3, 265, sr.; Lonnie Phelps, Mt. Healthy, 6-2, 220, sr.

Linebackers: Matt Centers, Franklin, 6-1, 200, sr.; Nick Coyle, Butler, 6-1, 205, sr.; Jason Fehr, Cin. McNicholas, 5-9, 175, sr.; Mason Gostomsky, Tippecanoe, 5-11, 181, sr.; DJ McDonald, Bellefontaine, 5-11, 195, sr.; Diego Neri, Cin. Northwest, 6-2, 220, so.; Evan Schlensker, Badin, 6-0, 170, jr.

»RELATED: Playoff football an Alter tradition

»RELATED: List of area seniors who signed

Secondary: Sammy Anderson, Trotwood-Madison, 6-2, 180, jr.; Ta’Ron Britt, Trotwood-Madison, 5-11, 170, sr.; De’Zion Coleman, Cin. Hughes, 5-10, 170, jr.; Antwann Martin, Alter, 6-1, 190, jr.; Henry Nenni, Fenwick, 5-9, 175, sr.

Punter: RJ Clesceri, Fenwick, 5-10, 175, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Jack Fessler, Fenwick

Defensive player of the year: Shane Cokes, Chaminade Julienne

Coach of the year: Jeff Jenkins, Bellbrook

Second Team Offense

Backfield: Tristan Dillon, West Carrollton, 6-6, 220, sr., QB; Brady Evans, Wilmington, 6-1, 220, jr., QB; Sedric Ferguson, Bellbrook, 6-2, 180, sr., RB; Garrett Gross, Bellefontaine, 5-10, 195, jr., RB; Daniel Ingram, Cin. Woodward, 5-10, 195, jr., QB; Mick Karn, Piqua, 5-11, 192, sr., QB; Brandon Lanier, Mt. Healthy, 6-3, 230, jr., RB.

»RELATED: UC lands Xenia standout

»FOOTBALL PLAYOFFS: It’s Coldwater vs. Marion Local

Receivers: Jack Clement, Bellefontaine, 6-0, 165, sr.; Colin Downing, Chaminade Julienne, 6-3, 228, sr.; Austin Jones, West Carrollton, 6-2, 180, jr.; Jamal Kelly, Mt. Healthy, 5-9, 155, sr.; Thomas Vogelsang, Fenwick, 6-2, 180, sr.; Derek Willits, Alter, 6-3, 193, sr.

Linemen: Ricardo Calzada, Carroll, 5-11, 300, sr.; Grant Heatherly, Tippecanoe, 6-4, 274, sr.; Cortez Huckleby, Mt. Healthy, 6-1, 270, jr.; Andrew Jones, Badin, 6-1, 225, sr.; Kaden Rogers, Ross, 6-3, 255, so.

Kicker: Brady Henry, Wilmington, 5-9, 170, sr.

»RELATED: Familiar feel, despite missing some regulars

»RELATED: Lebanon leaving GWOC

Second Team Defense

Linemen: Malik Denkins, Woodward, 6-3, 225, jr.; Jacob Kidwell, Bellefontaine, 6-1, 225, jr.; Brennan Toopes, Piqua, 6-0, 209, sr.

Linebackers: Leo Bell, Fenwick, 5-8, 230, sr.; David Frederick, Chaminade Julienne, 5-8, 178, so.; Ke’Shawn Huguely, Trotwood-Madison, 5-9, 205, jr.; Jon LaJeunesse, Carroll, 6-1, 225, jr.; Isaac Newman, Bellefontaine, 5-11, 205, sr.; Nebulun Stephens, Woodward, 6-2, 210, sr.; Tyler Wilcox, Trotwood-Madison, 6-0, 215, sr.

»RELATED: Northmont falls to Pickerington Central again

»PHOTOS: Northmont vs. Pickerington Central, football playoffs

Secondary: Jawann Davis, Hughes, 5-11, 170, jr.; Marshal Flaig, Badin, 6-1, 165, jr.; Jordan Hodge, Ross, 5-10, 180, sr.; Logan Miller, Fenwick, 5-9, 160, so.

Punter: Andrew Redemeier, Ross, 6-1, 235, sr.

»RELATED: 7 things to know about the football playoffs

»RELATED: Final football power rankings

Honorable mention: Sully Janeck. Fenwick; Ryan Minor, Chaminade Julienne; Josh Burritt, Tippecanoe; Dylan Caldwell, Ross; Tyron Mincy, Mt. Healthy; Tommar Coles, West Carrollton; Grayson Taylor, Badin; Owen Toopes, Piqua; Derek Robb, Bellefontaine; Jonathan Allen, Dayton Dunbar.

»RELATED: Area teams in football playoffs

»FACEBOOK LIVE: Hartsock and Pendleton on football playoffs

Reader Comments

Next Up in Sports

Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray apologizes for anti-gay tweets
Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray apologizes for anti-gay tweets

Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Kyler Murray issued an apology Sunday after coming under fire for years-old anti-gay tweets. "I apologize for the tweets that have come to light tonight from when I was 14 and 15," Murray, 21, tweeted Sunday, just one day after the University of Oklahoma junior won the award. "I used a poor choice...
Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North
Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North

The Cincinnati Bengals were better, but that didn’t translate to a win Sunday against the Los Angeles Chargers. Instead, the Bengals suffered their fifth straight loss, a 26-21 decision to the Chargers at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. »RELATED: View photos from the game Running back Joe Mixon’s touchdown with 1:50 to play got...
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray has won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the University of Oklahoma's seventh Heisman winner, beating fellow finalists Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State on Saturday. Murray gives the Sooners back-to-back years with Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks (Baker Mayfield, 2017), something no school has done before...
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0

The Kings of the South are the Kings of MLS. Behind goals from Josef Martinez and Franco Escobar, Atlanta United defeated Portland 2-0 to win the MLS Cup in front of record announced attendance of more than 73,000 on Saturday at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. No one, from owner Arthur Blank to the players, were shy in the...
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn

On a night in which the Dayton Flyers committed 23 turnovers at Auburn Arena, the biggest gaffe belonged to the SEC Network, which ran five mugshots of UNC Asheville players under the names of the UD starters before the game. Only Ryan Mikesell looked plausibly like the player pictured under his name. Unlike UNC Asheville, which lost 67-41 to the No...
More Stories