Youthful Stivers streaks into boys D-III district final

It took the entire boys basketball season, but Stivers got it together when it counts most.

Loaded with a youthful roster and having taken repeated Dayton City League lumps, unlikely Stivers (12-13) will play for a Division III high school basketball district championship at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday against mighty Cincinnati Deer Park (24-0) at the University of Dayton Arena.

That’s the second of two D-III games. Versailles (21-4) and Cincinnati Madeira (17-7) will play in the 5:30 p.m. opener.

»RELATED: Round 3 for SWBL girls rivals Bellbrook and Franklin

Stivers coach Felix Turner is in his third season with the Tigers, but previously was the longtime Meadowdale coach. The starting lineup includes freshman leading scorer Allen Latimore and sophomores Trevon Ellis (first team All-City), Doug Spear and Da’juan Allen.

“They just had to grow up,” Turner said. “They’re growing up emotionally and their basketball games are maturing. It was just a growth spurt that we had to go through.”

»RELATED: Girls basketball regional schedule

Added to that mix is defensive stopper and senior Terry Matthews.

A No. 12 seed, Stivers rung up the first significant postseason upset by overwhelming No. 4 seed Madison 55-37. Madison (19-4) had won the Southwestern Buckeye League Buckeye Division and had brought a 15-game win streak into the playoff opener.

Stivers followed that with similar blowouts of Twin Valley South and Dayton Christian (18-6) in a sectional final.

“Now that they’ve had a little success in the tournament, it’s reinforcing the things they need to do to be a good basketball team,” said Turner.

»RELATED: Boys basketball district final schedule

Versailles is led by senior Justin Ahrens. The 6-foot-6 Ohio State University signee leads the Tigers in scoring (25.3) and rebounding (8.1).

Versailles also has posted three blowout tournament wins after placing third in the Midwest Athletic Conference behind winner Marion Local and runner-up St. Henry. Both those MAC teams played in D-IV sectional semifinals at Wapakoneta on Tuesday in the Northwest District.

The winners advance to next week’s D-III regional semifinals at Fairmont’s Trent Arena.

»RELATED: GWOC reps fall in D-I girls district finals

Either Dunbar (17-4) or Thurgood Marshall (9-14) will play in a D-II sectional final in a third game at 9:30 p.m. Wednesday at UD Arena. Dayton Public Schools contested Dunbar being disqualified by the Ohio High School Athletic Association for using an ineligible player. A court decision will determine which City League team plays Fenwick (17-6).

• The girls D-I and D-III regionals begin on Wednesday. Waynesville (23-1) is paired against Cincinnati Summit Country Day (26-0) at 6:15 p.m. at Springfield High School. Winners of the SWBL Buckeye Division, the Spartans have lost only to Ashland Paul Glazer 51-50 at Ironton.

»RELATED: Revised boys D-II schedule

Versailles (25-1) will play Williamsburg (22-0) in the 8 p.m. second game. Versailles defeated Cincinnati Purcell Marian 53-48 on Monday. That district final was postponed from Saturday because of a Purcell Marian student’s death.

All area teams have been eliminated from the D-I field.

Reader Comments

Next Up in Sports

Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North
Bengals drop fifth straight game, fall to last place in AFC North

The Cincinnati Bengals were better, but that didn’t translate to a win Sunday against the Los Angeles Chargers. Instead, the Bengals suffered their fifth straight loss, a 26-21 decision to the Chargers at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. »RELATED: View photos from the game Running back Joe Mixon’s touchdown with 1:50 to play got...
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray has won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the University of Oklahoma's seventh Heisman winner, beating fellow finalists Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State on Saturday. Murray gives the Sooners back-to-back years with Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks (Baker Mayfield, 2017), something no school has done before...
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0
Atlanta United wins MLS Cup, beats Portland 2-0

The Kings of the South are the Kings of MLS. Behind goals from Josef Martinez and Franco Escobar, Atlanta United defeated Portland 2-0 to win the MLS Cup in front of record announced attendance of more than 73,000 on Saturday at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. No one, from owner Arthur Blank to the players, were shy in the...
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn
Dayton Flyers: Five takeaways from a loss at No. 8 Auburn

On a night in which the Dayton Flyers committed 23 turnovers at Auburn Arena, the biggest gaffe belonged to the SEC Network, which ran five mugshots of UNC Asheville players under the names of the UD starters before the game. Only Ryan Mikesell looked plausibly like the player pictured under his name. Unlike UNC Asheville, which lost 67-41 to the No...
HS Scores 12/8: Conley, Thomas go over 50-point mark in wins

Two area basketball players had record-setting nights on Saturday. Ethan Conley sounded off with 54 points for Franklin Monroe in a 92-80 victory versus Houston in boys basketball and Corinne Thomas exploded for 51 points in Tecumseh’s 104-42 win versus London in girls basketball. Both Conley and Thomas set the single-game scoring record for...
More Stories